Another Lush Invention: The massage bar

Hello my Lushies,

Today is all about massage bars. Lush has a variety of moisturizers with different consistencies, packaging and purposes. The massage bars are one of their most creative moisturizers. Bellow can find my current collection of Lush moisturizers, which are all very well used.
IMG_20150303_141012
Lush has a reputation for creative inventions. In fact, they invented the bath bomb. You can read more about that in their media kit. There you’ll find out about their mission statement, their goals and their history. I’ll also be covering this in my next post.

This is one of my favourite Lush inventions; you won’t find the massage bar anywhere else. One of Lush’s mission statements is to share the love (I’m paraphrasing) and this product is a reflection of that. It’s meant for couples but it’s also a great self love tool. My boyfriend loves these bars, he’s pleased that my passion for Lush has finally paid off for him. I’m great at giving massages, true story.

The massage bar is basically solid moisturizer and massage oil. It is an awesome excuse for self IMG_20141119_190748massage and great help for falling asleep. I keep my collection of massage bars on my night stand and rub them on my hands and knees before bed.

Lush likes to create solid products because it means less packaging and less garbage. I currently have three massage bars, and I bought them all at the same time. They just smell so good.

The one tip I can suggest when buying massage bars is get a tin for them or they collect dust. Although it might seem inconvenient, the solid massage oil is super easy to use. Theres a reason I have three of them.

All you have to do is rub it over your skin and your body heat melts it very easily. They are super moisturizing, although do leave oil residue on your skin that takes about a half hour to dissipate. This is the massage bars biggest complaint. They come in a variety of scents, they even have a bar with coffee beans in it which I am dying to get, called Percup. Lush is so good with puns.

They all last a very long time, I’ve had mine for about 6 months. As you can guess, these products don’t contain preservatives.

Here’s a little video from lush.ca on how to use them:

The following pictures are credited to lush.ca

Therapy

00024Therapy has a mix of cocoa butter and shea butter, neroli oil, orange and lavender. It is very relaxing. I bought this one for it’s sleepy, calming effect. This bar is vegan, incase you are vegan … or care about vegan-ness. The little ball on top was great before I rubbed it all off, for rubbing into my muscles. It was gone by the third time I used it.

In case you haven’t spent a good hour rubbing your knees, this is a good product to get into the habit of doing so. Stress relief is an important part of life, even if you aren’t stressed. As for me, my life is pretty stressful, and this product saved me through my first semester in college.

As I said before, it is a little bit greasy. This can be a downside if you don’t plan on giving yourself a massage, in which case you can use a variety of other solid moisturizers that Lush offers, or just a regular Lush moisturizer. I will be writing another post about those soon. Therapy is really specific to stress relief, rubbing in that oil is really soothing. I can’t even explain it to you, I just strongly suggest it.

Each Peach

02163This product has a different purpose but is still incredible. It is more moisturizing and skin softening then Therapy. This bar is practically anti depressant. It’s said that citrus smells cheer you up, and I’m a strong believer in this. (“believed” in the sense that, I’m sure someone once did a test with oxytocin and citrus … so more like proven, but I have no link to share) The smell of this alone makes me smile. It includes avocado and mango kernel butter as well as shea and cocoa butter… although you’d think it had peach in it. Honestly, there isn’t even peach scent in it. The scent is lime, orange, mandarine (which is similar to a clementine,) and grapefruit.

Hottie

03251

As you can see above, mine has been well used. As a personal support worker I support a lot of people while working. This often leaves me with a soar back and this bar does the trick. It includes ginger and pepper to heat up your muscles, just like a natural A535, but instead of peppermint it smells of vanilla. This bar also has shea and cocoa butter. This one doesn’t have a tin to fit it, so maybe try a ziplock bag in a cold place. I wonder what it would be like to put this in the fridge … I’ll get back to you on that. What I do know is that the heat is real. I’ve used Each Peach after this and it was really cold on my skin. This bar is very warm and soothing on your skin.

If none of these bars seems like the one for you, go in stores and look at a few. Strawberry Feels Forever is really popular and I’ll suggest it despite not having tried it because I want one badly. Wiccy Magic Muscle is featured in the video above and is also good for soar muscles. I’m especially partial to this due to my soar muscles. As I said before, Percup is on my wish list too. The thing is , you can have to many massage bars. You can only massage yourself so much. I’ve had mine for 6 months and I’m still not even half way done them. So don’t go buying yourself a million, even if the smells are tempting.

I hope you spend some time self (or just) loving with a Lush massage bar, you won’t regret it.

Over and Out,

Taylor

PS: Do you have a favourite indulgence product? Let me know what it is in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “Another Lush Invention: The massage bar

  1. I love the sound of the coffee bean one! Although waking me up before bed may not be a good idea 😛 I think these sound so relaxing, I never realised Lush did such things but I may just have to invest in one! 🙂 Victoria xx thedaisyjaynes.com

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

